I knew when I was 5 years old that I wanted to play the violin for the rest of my life. After attending Rutgers’ University: Mason Gross School of the Arts and Manhattan School of Music, I began playing professionally in New York City, touring the world with symphony orchestras, and playing with prestigious artists such as Adele and Stevie Wonder. In 2012, I moved to the Bay Area with my wife and began auditioning for permanent orchestra positions. During this time, I developed a hand injury that left me unable to play and in serious, chronic pain. After many trips to my general practitioner and hand specialists, I was left with no answers, no plan, and serious questions about what I would do for the rest of my life.

A friend suggested that I go to see her chiropractor. I had never been to one before, and I was eager to try anything that would get me out of pain and able to wash my own hair again. Needless to say, that initial visit to the chiropractor changed the trajectory of my life. Not only was I able to use my hand again, but I was so moved by the care, the power of the body to heal itself, and what I could potentially do for others that I decided to pursue my own path in chiropractic.

While in school, my wife and I adopted our son. If you’d like to see our self-deprecating, tender series about our adventures into parenthood, check out www.thefwordseries.com. Being a queer white parent to a brown boy has inspired my practice vision to reach beyond the heteronormative white people that are generally receiving chiropractic care. I’m deeply devoted to the surrounding community in which my family and I live by making care accessible and therefore affordable to LGBTQ and POC folx and families.

I attended Life Chiropractic College West, graduating Magna Cum Laude, with a specialty in Pediatrics and Pregnancy. During my clinical residency, I worked primarily with LGBTQ pregnant patients and their families, as well as neuro-diverse infants and children. It’s my absolute honor and privilege to serve the greater Oakland community in which I live.